The Girls, from Larvik

The Girls, from Larvik city, was founded in 1981, and consisted of Marianne Hansen (guitar, vocals), Vivi Andersen (bass), Irene Hansen (vocals) and Tone Nilsen (drums).

The young girls gained popularity and attention from the music business after an appearance on NRK "Flimra" in 1982 and was signed to a recording contract with the independant company Studio B.

Johnny Sareussen (former of The Vanguards) produced two albums, which mostly consisted of old rock classics. They took advantage of the studio musicians on the recordings, which was rather unusual  in the early 80s, but on stage they played their own instruments.

The group played for dancing at fairs, in the Norwegian military camps, and some in Sweden and Denmark. They were featured in several television programs and achieved a good record sales.

Their debut album stayed on VG Album Top 40 for almost two months in the summer of 1982 and the song “ORD (Word)” did well in the Norwegian radio chart.

Drummer Tone Nilsen was replaced by Merethe Hetty on The Girls’ second and last album ”Remember Then”. Tone Nilsen died some years later.

BW 4005

BW 4011
This text will be replaced